facebook

Try This Classic Pilates Mat Sequence for March MATness (or Any Month This Year)

It’s time for what has become the annual tradition in recent years known as March MATness. Every March, the Pilates community celebrates the original mat exercises created by Joseph Pilates himself. While Pilates has evolved in so many ways, March MATness is all about returning to the roots of Pilates and performing the classic mat sequence of 34 exercises. Studios and Pilates enthusiasts around the world will all participate in their own way with contests, special classes, and tributes on social media. MOVE Wellness is no exception and we look forward to joining the celebration.

Pilates Teaser on the Mat

How to Participate in March MATness

There are so many ways to join in the fun. Whether on your own or in a studio, we encourage everyone to dive deep and work their way through the 34 exercises. March MATness began in 2013 as one trainer, Benjamin Degenhardt, had an idea to share his journey through the original exercises on social media. The end goal is to rediscover the basis of Pilates and increase awareness. The only “rule”? Do all 34 mat exercises.

If you are connected to a Pilates studio, the simplest way to participate is to join in with whatever your studio has planned. If you don’t have access to a studio or Pilates trainer, you can start by grabbing a copy of Return to Life, the original text written by Joseph Pilates. Know your limits and practice the exercises within your personal abilities. Many of them are not easy. This is when working with a certified trainer is helpful. They can help modify the exercises in ways to achieve maximum benefit for each individual.

Pilates trainers on the mat

Next you’ll want to follow along on social media, and think about how you want to share your own journey. Document your progress with photos, videos, drawings, or variations and post it for the world to see. Be creative! Follow along with the rest of the Pilates community by keeping an eye on @MarchMATness, @MoveWellness, #MarchMATness2021, and #MOVEMatness. Be sure to tag your own posts too so everyone will see them. There is also a schedule of hashtags for each exercise (see below) arranged by day throughout the month. Use them when you post if you want the community to see what you’re up to.

Every studio will participate in their own way, and likely change it up each year to keep things fun. This year, MOVE Wellness will be featuring the 34 original Pilates mat exercises throughout our schedule of 40+ livestream classes. Our awesome staff will guide you through the month incorporating the day’s exercise—or modification of the exercise—showing that Pilates is accessible to everyone at all levels of movement. Taking a creative twist on the original system that Joseph Pilates created will allow us to challenge and inspire you safely in your classes throughout the month. Participating in March MATness brings a sense of community and will help you achieve a deeper knowledge of your movement practice.

March Matness Logo

Pilates Mat Sequence

Ready to celebrate March MATness? Here is the sequence of the original 34 Pilates mat exercises, along with the social media posting schedule, should you wish to follow it. Work through the exercises daily, or weekly on your own. Or better yet join our livestream classes and let us lead the way. Once again, the only rule is to give each exercise a try.

#MOVEMatness Part One:

March 1: The Hundred (#hundred)
March 2: The Roll Up (#rollup)
March 3: The Roll Over (#rollover)
March 4: One Leg Circle (#onelegcircle)
March 5: Rolling Back (#rollingback)
March 6: One Leg Stretch (#onelegstretch)
March 7: Double Leg Stretch (#doublelegstretch)
March 8: Spine Stretch (#spinestretch)

#MOVEMatness Part Two:

March 9: Rocker with Open Legs (#rockerwithopenlegs)
March 10: Cork-screw (#corkscrew)
March 11: Saw (#saw)
March 12: Swan Dive (#swandive)
March 13: One Leg Kick (#onelegkick)
March 14: Double Leg Kick (#doublelegkick)
March 15: Neck Pull (#neckpull)
March 16: Scissors (#scissors) and Bicycle (#bicycle)

#MOVEMatness Part Three:

March 17: Shoulder Bridge (#shoulderbridge)
March 18: Spine Twist (#spinetwist)
March 19: Jack Knife (#jackknife)
March 20: Side Kick (#sidekick)
March 21: Teaser (#teaser)
March 22: Hip Twist (#hiptwist)
March 23: Swimming (#swimming)
March 24: Leg Pull — Front and Back (#legpulls)

#MOVEMatness Part Four:

March 25: Side Kick Kneeling (#kneelingsidekick)
March 26: Side Bend (#sidebend)
March 27: Boomerang (#boomerang)
March 28: Seal (#seal) and Crab (#crab)
March 29: Rocking (#rocking)
March 30: Control Balance (#controlbalance)
March 31: Push Up (#pushup)

Pilates Extension

While March shines a spotlight on Pilates, we need to remember all year long that the benefits of Pilates are vast. There is mounting research that Pilates indeed supports a number of pathologies, postural issues, and is an effective method for whole body strengthening helpful to all bodies at any age. Just a few of the benefits we can enjoy as a result of practicing Pilates include increased core strength, stability, flexibility, and mobility. All things that move us through our daily lives with ease.

Become a Pilates Enthusiast Any Month of the Year

It doesn’t need to be March for you to try Pilates! MOVE Wellness offers livestream Pilates classes and private training sessions year-round. Contact us today and sign up for an introductory private session or start a FREE 14 day trial of our livestream classes. We can help you design a Pilates program to help you meet your individual needs and goals for March and beyond!

Welcome to Your FREE Livestream Trial

  • No credit card or payment of any kind is required for your 14 day trial.
  • After you set up your free MindBody account, you will have unlimited access to 35+ weeklyPilates, Yoga, Barre and Gyrokinesis livestream classes.
  • Love the trial? Join as a member for just $49/month for unlimited classes.

START MY FREE TRIAL
close-link